I am trying to upgrade all clients from 6.0.3 to 7.0.2. It seems that for multi user installs, after the upgrade, when they log in to notes, after saying “Setup Complete!” it displays the welcome page for Notes 6.5. “About Notes” reports that it is indeed 7.0.2". Changing the welcome page to a custom welcome page works, but if you try to go back to the default page it still displays the custom welcome page. If an additional user is added to a computer after the upgrade to Notes 7.0.2 they are displayed the correct welcome page that says Notes 7.
Single user accounts seem to upgrade just fine and display the correct welcome page. Any ideas on why this is doing that?
Subject: Upgrading clients to 7.0.2, welcom page says 6.5
This is a just a thought, but it may be a problem with the design of bookmark.nsf not being updated to the R7 version when the client update occurs. I imagine that if you did a replace design of the bookmark file for one of your impacted users, the welcome page would reflect R7 afterwards.
Maybe there’s an issue with the location of the templates during the upgrade that prevents them from being accessed by the multi-user install?
Subject: Upgrading clients to 7.0.2, welcom page says 6.5
Again, I answered my own question, but I am posting the resolution here for posterity. I don’t know which fixed it or if it was both but I added “everyone” to the security rights and gave modify access to two folders and child objects. The lotus folder under all users\application data and the entire program files\lotus folder as well prior to the upgrade. This seems to have fixed the problem with established users’ welcome page showing Notes 6.5 rather than the new 7.0.2 welcome screen after an upgrade.
Someone might elaborate on why this is the fix or if there is a better resolution.