Trash Folder after upgrade not working

We’re currently in the process of upgrading from Notes 5 to Notes 7. We’ve upgraded all the servers, and are now working our way round the clients.

We’re using the Domino Web Access template for people’s mail files, but I’ve noticed an odd problem when upgrading them. When replacing the template design from the standard R5 mail file design, it seems to be pot luck as to whether the trash folder actually works. For some users, it works fine, yet for others, they retain the same deletion style as Notes 5, whereby a cross is placed next to the document, and the document is deleted when the user refreshes.

Does anyone have any idea what might be causing this? i’m trying to write some basic documentation for my users, and its hard knowing what to write when two different methods are out there!

Thanks in advance.