no, once the docs are removed thay are gone unless they were backed up. or if you have journaling enabled on your server you may be able to recover from there.
The data has not been deleted. It’s been purged. So that means that if you have another replica and you fix the settings, the docs should reappear. If they had been deleted, then the deletion stubs would propagate. Since they’ve been purged, there are no deletion stubs and you can get them back via replication.