Problem/Query:
After updating Sametime on iOS to version 12.0.21, the Remain Online option was present. If delete the application and install it again, this option “Remain Online” is missing from the settings Sametime application.
I don’t know how to get it back now.
Hello,
Sametime 12.0.3 introduced a new mobile feature to receive notifications on mobile until you log out, removing the need for the “Remain Online” setting. This aligns with industry standards to prevent users from having to log back in to the application once the remain online expires to continue receiving notifications. For more information: What’s New in HCL Sametime 12.0.3: Mobile Auto Status & Persistent Notifications
When connecting to a Sametime 12.0.2 FP1 or earlier server, the Remain Online setting will be displayed and used. I’ve tested this logging into a 12.0.3 server and switching to a 12.0.2 FP1 server and the “Remain Online” is successfully present on the 12.0.2 FP1 server.
What server version are you connecting to? This will help us identify why it’s not being displayed in your environment.
Sametime Server 12.0.3 is used. Thanks for the clarification regarding this option.
If you minimize or close the iOS application without logout, the session ends after 00:16:48 and 00:15:49 minutes and the user goes to Offline. Below are the server logs.
community_1 | stlog 2025-07-01 05:21:22.371 INFO 143 --- 136300206413632 : Login userId=CN=Administrator,O=Tempo organization= IP=172.18.0.26 app=Mobile 11.0 IOS(5203) Sametime connectivity No Type client version 30.9000 (V9.0.0)
community_1 | stlog 2025-07-01 05:38:10.821 INFO 143 --- 136300206413632 : Logout userId=CN=Administrator,O=Tempo organization= IP=172.18.0.26 app=Mobile 11.0 IOS(5203) reason=(0x0)
community_1 | stlog 2025-07-01 05:39:13.726 INFO 143 --- 136300206413632 : Login userId=CN=Administrator,O=Tempo organization= IP=172.18.0.26 app=Mobile 11.0 IOS(5203) Sametime connectivity No Type client version 30.9000 (V9.0.0)
community_1 | stlog 2025-07-01 05:55:02.246 INFO 143 --- 136300206413632 : Logout userId=CN=Administrator,O=Tempo organization= IP=172.18.0.26 app=Mobile 11.0 IOS(5203) reason=(0x0)
Hey Sergio,
This may be true from the server logs as the users mobile device is stored and will continue to receive notifications, but to the community after 15 minutes the user should still be seen as online but in an “away” status. The default behavior once a user places their application in the back ground (which can be adjusted by an admin) is to change from available to away. After one week of no activity the user will be changed to an offline status, but still continue to receive new chat notifications. Bringing the application to the foreground at anytime will change the user’s status back to “available”.
Can you open a support case to confirm this behavior and debug if this is not the case.
Thanks
I tried experimenting with changing the status in iOS, but in any status (online or away) after 15 minutes the user goes offline for other users. If you send a message to this user when they are offline, the message will arrive on their iOS device. And yes, bringing the app to the foreground changes the user’s status from offline to available.