Question re deleting Inbox and Sent messages

A user sends a message to a group, of which they are also a member. The message is automatically saved to Sent items as set in User preferences as well as delivered to his Inbox. He then deletes the message from his Inbox and finds it’s been deleted from Sent also. Is there a user setting or other way of deleting only the Inbox message and keeping the Sent item?

Subject: Question re deleting Inbox and Sent messages

Hi Mike,

Somethings not quite right here.

The default behaviour of Notes in this sceanario is that If you are a member of a group that you are sending a mail to - you shouldn’t get a copy.

The assumption being that, because you sent it - you already know about it (and the contents) - so why deliver the same mail to you again!

Least, that’s my understanding anyway and how it functions in my organisation.

This doesn’t help you in your situation I know but just wanted to add this as if you could prevent this in the first place their problem would be resolved.

Rgds,

Ads

Subject: Remove or Delete? Folder or View?

Hi Mike, I wrote this post that I think may help you (and your users)

http://www.alanlepofsky.net/alepofsky/alanblog.nsf/dx/remove-or-delete

Alan Lepofsky - IBM/Lotus

Learn more at my Lotus Notes Tips and Tricks Blog

LOTs of US working together to innovate for success

Subject: RE: Remove or Delete? Folder or View?

Thanks Alan! :slight_smile: Exactly what I was looking for.