I am having a problem with a couple of aspects of roaming users as implemented in R6, and hope someone can help.
I manage multiple sites running Domino. Most of these sites have been running release 5 for some time. For these I have long implemented user roaming by keeping the users data directory on the server. This method has traditionally worked fine, with the main drawback perhaps being an increase in network traffic due to nonlocal files.
With the advent of release six, I have started using the roaming user features.
The first problem arises with my clients that need to be able to hot desk, or roam often. When a user is first log onto notes, standard setup procedure is followed. Roaming as such is working, however when the user logs on to another PC for the first time, the notes setup screen again appears, requiring the user to enter their name and the server name. Although this is not particularly arduous, it seems to confuse many users and is a constant drain on the user support resources.
Is there any way that. once the initial setup is performed, users details can happen automatically and bypass subsequent notes setup questions when they access a machine not previously used by them. it would be nice to be able to use the “cleanup notes files on exit” feature to save disk space on multiuser PCs, however this would be effectively impossible while this problem exists.
the second problem seems probably related, but maybe a bug. On a PC used by more than one person, occasionally after switching users, a user who has previously used notes on this PC and has already gone through the setup process will be asked again to go through the setup process as if it was the first time they had used the machine. This does not happen all the time, and I have yet to determine the exact frequency of the problem. it has, however, been reported by others in the notes forums.
the third issue, again probably related, is that occasionally when setting up a user for the first time on a machine, notes will report that cannot find the bookmarks template, despite the fact that it is available and visible in the shared notes data area in the all users folders. When this happens, it is necessary to manually copy the template to the users data area, and then rerun the user setup, for it to work properly.
I see a possible link between problems two and three, but have not yet determined whether they only exist on the same machines.