Merge/No Conflicts on save

Does this work for saves?

I have a form with multiple controlled access sections - each section has a single editor (so there is no possibility of the same field being updated by different users).

The form is set to “Merge/No Conflicts”, there are no scheduled agents and I have disabled replication for the time being.

I am still getting “Replication/Save conflicts” - why?

Subject: Merge/No Conflicts on save

Dave,

If you have, for example, an EditHistory field at the bottom of your form which calcs the last person/date the document was saved, then presumably this would be updated in both instances (userA and userB on different servers saving same doc near simultaneously).

regards,

raphael

Subject: Merge/No Conflicts on save

On save the 'Merge/No Conflicts" does not apply. This affects replication only. If the same doc on 2 different servers is modified and there are no modified fields in common then the docs will merge. If the same field on both docs is updated then a conflict will occur.

If the same doc on the same server is modifed at the same time then a save conflict will occur, regardless of what fields were updated. One or both users will be presented with a prompt stating that the “doc was modified since opened, save changes and create conflict?”, or something close to that. If the user chooses “Yes” a save conflict occurs. Why not enable document locking to prevent this?

Subject: RE: Merge/No Conflicts on save

Thanks Paul - its what I’d suspected from looking at the evidence.

Why not enable document locking to prevent this?

ahh - new feature for me. We are currently in the middle of an upgrade from R5 to R7, with a mixture of both clients. The database has been designed with R7 designer - will locking work for users with R5 clients?

Subject: RE: Merge/No Conflicts on save

not sure but my guess would be no. maybe search this forum for an answer to that question. you may also search the R4/R5 forum also.