For starters, I did not do this on purpose…Domino Administrator was not displaying the DenyAccess group in the “Deny Access Groups”, even after refreshes and restarts, so I re-created the group with the same name (so I wouldn’t have to modify the server doc). About 10 seconds later, both groups showed up in the listing, so I figured that I would delete the one I just created. I highlighted the new group, selected delete and confirmed…and BOTH GROUPS were deleted!!! I’m trying to figure out how to recover that listing, I have a tape backup system but I have no idea where that group information would be so I can restore it!
Subject: RE: If you hypothetically erase your Deny Access group…
Well that definately answers my question…now I just have to wait until it isn’t peak hours so I don’t disrupt users by restoring/over-writing that file (apparantly my backup software can only restore to where it backed up from…)
Subject: RE: If you hypothetically erase your Deny Access group…
Bad idea to overwrite your production names.nsf from backup. I’ve never heard of a backup solution that didn’t let you redirect a restore. What do you use for backups?
Subject: RE: If you hypothetically erase your Deny Access group…
I was able to succesfully restore an old copy of names.nsf to a network drive (it worked!!!) and was able to copy the information out of it and load it in to the current list. Thanks for all your help! I definately learned a few things today.