I loose emails when archiving

We are using server archiving. We archive every Friday at 10 PM. We only archive two emails db’s.

When we decided to start archiving I created a new mail db based on the Mail7 template. I switched the person doc to reflect the new mail db. All good so far. I told the new mail db to archive to the old mail db. It worked until the user created a folder in the new mail db that already existed in the old mail db. When it archived it overwrote the old folder in the old mail db and the user lost emails from there old mail db.

To correct the problem I created a new mail db based on the old mail db so it would have all the folders already there in the new mail db. Now when they move an email to an existing folder in the new mail db and archive the system wipes out all emails in the same folder in the old mail db and archives the new emails from the new mail db.

Hope that is clear. When an email is moved to a folder in the new mail db and archiving takes place if there are any emails in the same folder in the old mail db they are deleted and just the emails from the new email db are put in the folder on the old mail db. Again the user is loosing emails.

Any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated.

Subject: I loose emails when archiving.

You don’t need to create any mail database for the archive. The archive database template is different from the regular mail template.

Simply enable archiving on the mail files you want to setup archiving for (from mail inbox: Actions → Archive → Settings), point it to archive on the home mail server. Do a test archive using any doc from mail database. This should automatically create an archive database on the server.

Advise user not to create any folders on the archive but on the mail file. The first time any doc is archived from the new folder it will create the same folder on the archive also.

Hope this helps …

Subject: I loose emails when archiving.

I don’t know if you wrote it wrong or if you understand it wrong, so just to clarify. As I read it, you seem to believe that the user looses emails which in the situation you describe is highly unlikely. You loose folder contents. Big difference. The email is still there in the All documents view and can easily be found by using a full text index.