Dragging a column in a view to a different location in the view

Hello,

I just tried dragging a column in a view to a different location from the Notes client with a test user ID that had author access to the database. I closed the database and switched back to my own ID and re-opened the database and view.

The column that I dragged to a new location was still in the new location. I was unable to find any properties on either the View Properties or Column Properties dialog boxes that had and column location/movability features.

The only way I was able to restore the view to its original column order was to open it in design mode and save it.

Is this a new feature in Notes? I have never noticed it before and frankly don’t even know what possessed me to try it. Is there some way that I can allow end users to move columns around and then have them restored to their original locations without touching the Designer?

I tried searching on “move column”, “drag column” and several other terms and was unable to find any information on this in either the forum, designer or client help files, or the Lotus technical library. Does anyone know where I can get more information on this feature?

Best regards,

Gail Spurlock

Subject: Dragging a column in a view to a different location in the view

Go to View > Cutomize this view … click the Defaults button to restore it. This is of course on a per user basis. Also, in the view properties box in designer on the second tab there is a checkbox “Allow Customizations”. This feature is enabled by default.

Subject: RE: Dragging a column in a view to a different location in the view

Hi Paul,

Thank you for that information. If a user customizes a view on a database on a server, will those customizations affect other users or is the customization saved on the user’s workstation/desktop?

I just looked it up in the Client Help file and it didn’t specify.

Thanks…gail

Subject: RE: Dragging a column in a view to a different location in the view

as I mentioned, the customizations are on a per user basis. changes made by 1 user will not affect anyone else, they are personal settings and I can only assume they are stored in the user’s local desktop file.