Since the upgrade to ND6, we notice that if someone is editing a document in the same database or replica database, and someone else attempts to go into that document in edit mode, that someone will get a message stating that the document is being edited by: and list the name of the user editing the document.
There is a setting in the database properties “Allow Document Locking”. Even if this property is not selected, you get the message. So the issue becomes, how do I disable it?
If you are on an R5 client, you don’t have this problem. This only applies to ND6 clients.
One, you can create a new replica on another server. But then you still face the same problem if the above scenario is played out even with the replicas now spreading the load. In other words, two users are working off of document number 65 on the sep. replicas…no problem. But when another user comes along and tries to edit one of them, the same error will obviously occur.
Two, and probably the best solution – if you uncheck “Automatically enable Edit Mode” from the form properties, you will be able to open the document without a problem. If you try to change to edit mode, that is when you will get the aforementioned message, and editing will be prevented until the other user closes the document.
Lotus is working on a solution to this so I am told. Currently, there is no way to access this lockdown programatically that I was able to find in the forums or in the notes help.
The database property "Allow document locking, hence, is not applicable for “Temporary” document locking. “Temporary” document locking is the scenario described above and is inherent for all ND6 clients.
It applies to Authors and above having the ability to permanently lock documents, that is, by having this property selected, the right-click menu option “Lock Document” becomes available.