This displays only the user’s documents. Now I have a form (FormA) with an embedded view, pointing to ViewA, and in another DB the user would click a link which composes a new form (FormA), which will display their documents.
The issue I’m running into is if User A has the document or view opened, then User B will only see User’s A documents. Only when User A closes the document or view, User B will then be able to open the document/view and view their documents.
I don’t think using the @UserName condition in a view selection is a good idea… can I suggest you something? Why don’t you put a hidden categorized column as the first column of your view, with the field ‘Requester’ as its value? Then you can use the ‘show single category’ property on your embedded view (on your form), using the @Name formula… got it? You bet, it works like a charm!
That didn’t work. I was logged in as UserA had the document opened and it displayed UserA’s documents. While that was opened I opened the DB on another computer as UserB and the document still displayed UserA’s documents
The View was modified to display all users now and Requester is the first column. In the embedded View I selected the view and the Show Single Category I put: @Name([CN]; @Username)
So now your shared view has a simple selection without the evil @username on it, you put the 1st categorized column with the requester field as its value, embedded it on a form, set the ‘show single category’ as the user common name.
checked? checked.
Can you visualize the embedded view on your client? Check if there’s any chance of the requester field has both users on it?
Stuiped me…When I changed the View I thought I saved the document, which I didn’t. As soon as I saved it both users are able to view their own documents.
Shared views on a server don’t want to see @UserName anywhere. Since the view is calc’d on the server, it tends to think the server is your name, which doesn’t help much.
I agree with the other response, or with simply categorizing your view by name and having users go to their own name.