i’ve got forms that have approver sections with specific roles for each section. People have been submitting work for quite some time on this database. I took over the database and decided to change the names of the Roles because there was no logical method to how the last developer named his roles. So i updated the acl roles… updated the users and gave them their renamed roles… and i went through all forms and updated the sections to accept my renamed roles.
However, i ran into a problem… if i create a brand new document… (this is a new document AFTER i changed the roles)… the approver sections work fine. However… if i open a document that was created BEFORE i renamed the roles it won’t allow access and tells me that only a person with the old role can use this section… even though when i go to designer the right role is assigned on the saved form.
My question is… is it impossible to get previously created documents with the old roles to update with my renamed roles??? Does a role actually save itself in the document making it impossible to change after that document has been saved?? Or is a role just face value like fields on a form where you can change it at anytime and the form/document will update?