Stop all activity while upgrading?

Hi to all,

I am planing to upgrade a server from 6.5 to 7, should I tell all the users to stop working while I do that? They arent working on local copies they are working with the databases on the server!

Thank you

Subject: Stop all activity while upgrading?

Hi,

you will have to stop the server while upgrading so people cant work on it… You will have to have them work on a replica/cluster server.

Kjeld

Subject: Stop all activity while upgrading?

I like to take the server off-line by either:

setconfig server_restricted=1

or

stop the notes port

stop port TCPIP (or whatever your port name is)

or unplug the network cable but hopefully you have the server code on a CD and not a network share.