Replication Settings "Document by selection formula" question

Hello,

In my database, all my documents have a field named “CheckOut”. I also have a view with two buttons… “Check Out” and “Check In”. By default my “CheckOut” field is set to “0”. When I click on the “Check Out” button, the “CheckOut” field is set to “1” and when I click on the “Check In” button, the “CheckOut” field is set back to “0”. Nothing special so far.

This database has many replicas on other servers. I checked the “Document by selection formula” option in the “Advanced” tab of the “Replication Settings” and entered this as the formula:

SELECT CheckOut!=“1”

Now, if a new document (that is not yet in other replicas) has a “CheckOut” value of “1”, this document will not be added to the other replicas… which is fine!

However, if this is an existing document (that is already in other replicas) that has being edited and has the “CheckOut” field set to “1”, when I replicate, this document is removed from other replicas… which is not what I’d like. I would like to just not replicate the modifications made to this document… but keep the original document in the other replicas.

Is this possible?

Maybe replication settings are not the way to go.

I know that my problem above is the normal behavior… as stated in the help:

“If you set this limit on existing replicas on a computer, at the next replication all documents that are not in the specified folders or views will be delete from the replica(s)”.

Are there other ways to achieve what I’m trying to do?

Thanks!

Pascal

Subject: Replication Settings “Document by selection formula” question.

You might try using a hidden view to define your replicable documents and using the “Replicate a subset of documents” option.

In your view selection formula use your SELECT CheckOut!=“1”

statement.

Shawn

Subject: RE: Replication Settings “Document by selection formula” question.

Do you mean using the “Documents in specified views or folders” option instead of the “Documents by selection formula” option?

If so, there’s no way I can select a hidden view there.

Also, I don’t understand why this view should be hidden and how this will react differently from what I did (I think my documents will still be deleted).

Maybe I don’t get it though.

Could you give me more details?

Thanks a lot for your quick answer!

Pascal