Replicas and unread marks

Hello all.

A few notebook users are complaining to me that their local replicas do not update the server mail file with unread marks.

I’ve just found out that there is a @Command that synch the unread marks, but I believe that it should be automatic. I’ve created a toolbar button that does it, but I’d like to make it happen without user interference.

Am I missing anything ?

TIA.

Subject: replicas and unread marks

Can I fix this setting in a Policie ?

Subject: replicas and unread marks

Fact is that starting with R6.0.3 and R6.5 there is the possibility to REPLICATE unread marks. You have to enable this in the db’s properties.Prior releases used the notes client’s Unread journal to synchronize unread marks between replicas.

Patrick

Subject: RE: replicas and unread marks

We have something similar happening. The remote copies of the user’s mail file is marking emails that have been replied to or forwarded as unread. Database properties have not changed from the default settings. Now I am curious of what the impact of changing this setting is? (this property setting of Maintaining Unread Marks across Replicas) If I set the server replica to Not maintain the unread marks, will the remote (or local) replica on the user’s laptop manage these unread and read marks?

Any thoughts anyone? Does what I am asking make sense? :slight_smile:

Subject: RE: replicas and unread marks

Sean,

Your issue of “replied to” and forwarded messages appearing as unread is resolved by a new database property setting in 6.0.3 or newer versions. Open the database properties, go to the fourth tab and check “Do not modify modified documents as unread”. Unfortunately, it looks like this needs to be manually set on local replicas because this setting does appear to replicate.

There are other posts about this in this forum which may have better suggestions.

Subject: RE: replicas and unread marks

It appears that the local copies of these databases have that property checked off. I am still looking for a fix for this, and am beginning to think that it is something simple that I missed… Anyone else have any ideas?

ps. the user’s client is 6.5.1, server 6.5.1 as well.

regards,sm.

Subject: use R6.5

I remember reading that 6.5 should sync unread marks (I would think that 6.0.3 would do the same). What versions to you have on the servers and on the client?

Subject: RE: use R6.5

Both server and clients are using 6.0.3… Thanks for the tip, but I could not find the option you said. Could you tell me where can I configure this setting ?

Thanks a lot,