Rep/Save Conflict in Calendar

If someone opens a meeting invitation and, before accepting it, forwards the invitation to someone else (“you need to know about this”) and then accpets the invite, it is never put onto his/her calendar. If you look in the meetings and notices view, it is listed with a Replication/Save conflict and the original has an unprocessed status.

Is this the way it was designed? or is this a bug, er feature?

TIA

Dennis