Removing a user, but not their data

Hello. I’m a new Domino and have a quick question:

We have a user who we need to remove from the Domino directory. This user was responsible for setting up meetings using Rooms and Resources, so she’s the chair of a lot of meetings. If we remove her user but not her mail database, will all of those meetings still exist?

Apparently a user got deleted a while back and all of the meetings, etc. that were attached to his name were removed as well. Just trying to avoid that this time!

Thanks.

Subject: Removing a user, but not their data

Hi

The easiest :

Revoke access till the mettings are done, but keep the mail db.

Btw, you should ask this user to tell the new chairman to reschedule, or so…

ian

Subject: RE: Removing a user, but not their data

Thanks! Sounds like this won’t be too bad.

Is it possible for a new Chairman to take over the existing meetings in Rooms and Resources? I tired a few things and it didn’t look like it would be possible unless we scripted it.

Jason

Subject: RE: Removing a user, but not their data

You could take a look at the ‘transfer reservation’ from the R7 template and try it in R6.

JYR

Subject: RE: Removing a user, but not their data

We were talking about that… is that the feature in RR to transfer ownership of a reservation in the RR database to a new chair? Or is there a similar feature for invites (user to user) for regular meetings? Be nice to give someone else ownership of the meetings automatically…

Subject: RE: Removing a user, but not their data

What are the odds of that breaking the whole thing? :slight_smile:

Thanks again!

Jason

Subject: Removing a user, but not their data

If you delete a user with the admin client … or even using the delete button from the address book, the request gets sent into the system. This request to delete the user is processed by something called AdminP.

When you delete the user, you have the option at that time of removing their mail database and/or removing all replicas it finds of that mail database (other servers)

While that’s something (file deletion) that requires approval, the rest of the process will go pull that user’s name from any groups, readers and authors lists, etc. While it removes them from those areas to prevent access, it should not remove documents created by them. I believe that includes meetings - outside of the obvious that they won’t exist in the person’s mail file.

There is a nice little flow chart in the Admin 7 help, find the one titled: Delete person in Domino Directory

Gives you some insight on the process.

Subject: RE: Removing a user, but not their data

Thanks! I’ll check that out.