I have a client who is having issues with his mail file. He has folders created, and has ‘lost’ the folders. Now the odd thing here is, The client attempts to re-create the folder, and after he has selected CREATE NEW FOLDER, the folder is listed.
I have restored the mail file from 3 days ago, and I see where the folder is listed with 100+ messages in it.
What is happening?
I did a CTRL - SHFT- F9 – no change
I did a replace design – no change
messages which are in the ‘ghosted folder’ are in the VIEW ALL documents, so the message is still in the mail file, but not in the correct folder.
HELP- this client has had this happen 3 different times, and I am stumped.
Subject: Personal Folder(s) ghosted
I’ve seen similar problem(s) with 6.5.5, but only 2 users, so I’m not sure if it’s something that they’re doing, or something more pervasive.
Open the database in Designer, and check for one (or more) ‘Untitled’ Folders, and/or duplicate folder names.
‘Carefully’ clean up.
Subject: Personal Folder(s) ghosted - followup
With one of the cases I had, the user was renameing existing folders.
There is a TechNote that describes an issue (no plans to fix) that can occur when renaming folders → http://www-1.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?rs=203&context=SW000&dc=DB510&dc=DB520&dc=D800&dc=D900&dc=DA900&dc=DA800&dc=DB530&dc=DA600&dc=D600&dc=D700&dc=DA500&dc=D200&dc=DA410&dc=DA450&dc=DA430&dc=DA440&dc=DB540&dc=DB400&dc=DA420&dc=DA460&dc=DB300&dc=DA470&dc=DA480&dc=DB100&dc=DA4A10&dc=DA4A20&dc=DA700&dc=DA4A30&dc=DB550&dc=D100&q1=1195214&uid=swg21195214&loc=en_US&cs=UTF-8&lang=all
Some specific suggestions I’ve made to my two users were:
-
Ensure you don’t have leading or multiple space characters
-
You might try using the menu option Actions → Folder Options → Move (instead of dragging & dropping) and see how that goes.
-
You might try using the menu option Actions → Folder Options → Rename (instead of right-click → Rename) and see if that helps.
-
Don’t use back-slashes ('') in folder names,
-
After making a few changes, close your mail file and re-open it to see the results of the change(s).
…and I haven’t had any other calls about this problem, and both users have been OK ever since I cleaned up the design of their databases.