Open Database

Dear all,

In order to learn how Domino works, I created servers in my PC.

For example I created “One/DOM” server. I made some tests and then I uninstall it.

After I created a new server “Two/DIM” server. I made some tests and then I uninstall it.

Now I have a new server installed, the “Three/DEM” server.

The problem is that when I follow:

File-> Database-> Open in the field “Server” there is a list of all the servers I had previously installed and uninstalled. I can’t only see the entry for the actual “Three/DEM” server, but also the entries for “One/DOM” and “Two/DIM” servers.

How can I clean this list and have only my actual server in it? Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance,

Panos Kal

Subject: Open Database

Hi.If you install a Server, all Information will be set up in the Names.nsf. This Database contains all Information about Persons, Groups, Server and all kind of configuration.

If you uninstall a Server, not all Databases will be deletet. This means the names.nsf still is present after you uninstalled the server.

If you install a new server in the same folder/directory the new server and all configuration documents will be added, not replaced, in the present names.nsf.

That is the reason, why the server are listed.

You can delte all “old” information in the names.nsf, or uninstall the server, delete all out of the folder and reinstall a new server.

Or just use a different folder, in case you want to keep the old Databases.

cu

Torben

Subject: Open Database

If you take a look at your Workspace, you will probably find icons that point to databases on those previous installs. Remove these icons, and you should no longer see the old server names when you do File/Database/Open.

Another question would be why you keep installing/uninstalling the server all the time. Why not install one server once and for all, and then leave it there? Then, when you need to test something, you just start it up and go.

/Peter