How to have design refresh but still able to work with other notes client database

I noticed that if I save the view in client, than open the database, only than the client is not lock while refreshing the same view, but if I click the client icon from view, the whole database and designer being locked, and there is sometime no way for me to stop it even after pressing ctrl + break. Or is there any other way to have view being refreshed but at the same time still can access to my notes mail. Also, can I have two views being refreshed at the same time? tqvm in advance for your help.