Is there any way to force a design refresh even if there are users in the database?
The problem (when design changes are made):
Sometimes users don’t exit a database. They leave their computers on at night and leave Lotus Notes and several databases open. When the design update task runs, what ends up happening is that some design elements (like agents) get refreshed, but others (like views) are still using old code on the users computer.
Is there anyway to force a design refresh even if a user is still in it? Or even better, is there a way to force users to exit a database? Thanks.
Subject: Force design refresh even if a user is in the database
Ryan:
You can use the “refresh/replace” design from the DOM server to update the design of the databases. However, as to “forciblly (sp)” exit a client while in the db is possible but not wise. You can send out “broadcasts” for them to close their dbs or Notes Client or send out emails to the end-users reminding them to close. Of course, if you had PC-Anywhere on the remote machine, you could log in and shut down their Notes client…
Subject: RE: Force design refresh even if a user is in the database
Thanks for your respose.
I’ve tried the email solution, which users sometimes ignore.
The pcAnywhere solution is a little time consuming if you have hundreds of users.
I’m not sure I understand how to send out “broadcasts”.
Any other ideas?
Subject: Force design refresh even if a user is in the database
Check out the DOM server for sending broadcast messages. Or, you can use DOS to send out messages. Also, you can shut down the server and do your refresh; of course, let your users know of this before doing it.