We created a Smart Update database and Upgrade Kit to move users from 6.01 to 6.51. We created an explicit policy document named /Upgrade to 6.5.
We wanted to test this with only one user, so we assigned the policy to him - and only him - in his person document in the PAB.
In a few minutes, we were getting calls from users throughout the company, asking what this software upgrade prompt was all about.
Do you have any hints on what we might have done wrong?
Subject: Explicit policy applying Smart Upgrade to everyone!
I have just done the exact same thing. Create a dbase, create a policy, assign it to one person for testing, and this morning, calls about the upgrade box. I have followed the directions I received from a number of places.
Any ideas why?
Subject: RE: Explicit policy applying Smart Upgrade to everyone!
Me too!
Subject: RE: Explicit policy applying Smart Upgrade to everyone!
Was there ever any resolution or explanation on this? The same thing is happening to me and I’ve followed the instructions in HELP for an “Explicit” Smart Upgrade. This pretty much makes this a feature I can’t use.
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
Subject: RE: Explicit policy applying Smart Upgrade to everyone!
I guess the answer is the “Allowed Users & Servers” field in the Kit document. Even if a person doc doesn’t have the policy specified, if their name falls under this field in some way, they’re going to get the Upgrade pop up. From what I’ve been able to see, the only difference is that these people without the policy specified don’t get the “Upgrade Deadline” in their pop up.