Design wiped out on local replica after ACL change

Hi,

We have a number of salesman using local replicas of a database which they replicate at regular intervals.

I recently followed the following procedure during a design upgrade.

  1. Changed the ACL of the database to noaccess for the salesman group

  2. Replaced the design and ran some data conversions

  3. Did some testing

  4. Changed the ACL of the database to restore the access for the salesman group

The reason for this was that the conversion process took quite a long time and I didn’t want a half updated database ending up on a salesman’s local replica.

After this it appears that all salesman have their design and I think documents totally wiped out, with one exception. When they open the database, they get one view, but no docs. I believe the only reason they get this is because it was the only view in the database that had the ‘no refresh’ flag (incorrectly) set.

Further replication makes no difference. However, clearing the replication history, does the trick and restores the design and data. The unread marks are all showing as unread, as if a new replica has been created.

Does anyone have a clue as to why this occurred?

Regards

Graham

Subject: Design wiped out on local replica after ACL change

Hi Graham,

Were the local databases replicating in between the changes of the ACL that first denied and then gave access back to the salespeople? Once the ACL that gave no access replicated down, they would have been locked out of the database, unable to see anything and unable to replicate with the server to get the new ACL back that restored their access…

Subject: RE: Design wiped out on local replica after ACL change

Hi Andrew,

Yes the users were replicating, but they were not locked out, as they could see the one design element that was left in the database!

Subject: RE: Design wiped out on local replica after ACL change

Graham,I tend to believe Andrew’s suspicion is correct. Once they were “locked out” as you say, did you also remove the “read PUBLIC documents” flag for the “-default-” ACL entry ?

If not, they might have this only view left over assuming the view design document has the “available to public access users” flag (security tab of design properties) enabled.

Replication can delete data and design documents in a (local or server) replica under certain circumstances.

HTH

Stefan