I did a search on the forum and couldn’t find anything. I’m sure I’m missing something embarrassingly obvious here.
We have some users who, when they delete a document, the document remains in the inbox but an X appears in the left-hand column. If they refresh their inbox, it asks if they want to delete it. But then we have some users who, when they delete a document, it flicks it straight into the trash without prompting.
That’s what my searching through the client help led me to believe. However, I already had and still have that selected, but my mails still go straight to the trash. A refresh of the design didn’t help, nor a replace.
That’s the way it’s su[pposed to work with “Allow” selected – the documents go to the trash immediately. With soft deletions not allowed, the documents don’t flash to the trash, but they are gone forever when the database is closed or the view is refreshed.
Okay. I tried unselecting the Allow, and the mail was deleted immediately without being transferred to trash. Still no deletion mark. I’d wonder if it was a bug in the template (it’s a custom one) except this is working fine for many people.
Edit: I just checked the settings of one of the people who has the x come up. They have allow soft deletions selected.
First, you need to understand that the behaviour you want is not standard, and will likely be fixed again at the next client upgrade. That being said, look in the broken version for the ($Trash) folder – it’s probably missing or corrupt.