Deleting a sent item also removes it from another folder

Hi there,

I have a user who uses ‘Send and File’ frequently to save sent messages in a specific folder.

In order to save space he tried to delete the same entry from the sent folder and found it was deleted from both the locations.

Is this working as designed ? If so, is there anyway (besides archiving) to delete an item from sent folder without affecting its copy in another folder?

Thanks for any help

Ayaz

Subject: Deleting a sent item also removes it from another folder

That’s absolutely as designed. Views and folders in Notes act more like views/queries in a relational database than folders in an operating system, in that things in folders are NOT separate copies. Rather, they’re displaying the same instance of a record in different places. A given document can be displayed in any number of different places without taking up any more space (or, at least, a trivial amount of space), just as multiple queries can call up information out of a given table but don’t create multiple copies of that information. Tell the user not to delete things from his sent folder. He’s not saving any space that way, nor is he taking up more space when he files messages.

Subject: RE: Deleting a sent item also removes it from another folder

Thanks a lot for replying …

However, you can easily move documents back and forth from Inbox to a folder OR from one folder to other … so I wanted to make sure there was no anomaly here …

Thanks again …

Ayaz

Subject: RE: Deleting a sent item also removes it from another folder

As Joel alluded, those are folders, while Sent is a view. The difference is that documents appearing in a view are selected programmatically. The view has selection criteria (for example, stuff you’ve sent). If a document fits the critera, it appears there. The only ways to get documents out of a view is either delete them from the database or to get into the view design and change the criteria. Folders (which include the inbox) have contents determined by adding documents to the folder or removing them from the folder.

Subject: Deleting a sent item also removes it from another folder

there is no sent folder. It’s a view. This is working as designed. When you delete a document from a view, it is deleted from the database.