After design replace, DB reverts to old design on the client side

Our servers have been upgraded to R7 recently and we had our first design replace since the upgrade. We have had a handful of users report that they see the new design, do some work in the DB and then it appears that the design reverts back to the old design. Removing the icon from the workspace and adding it again clears this up. The users are all on 7.0 clients and have author access to the DB. Has anyone seen this behavior or have any ideas what could be causing it? Thank you.

Subject: After design replace, DB reverts to old design on the client side.

when you delete an icon from the workspace this also clears the cached design elements from cache.ndk so it may be something to do with the cache.ndk file. you may want to have a look at that.

Subject: RE: After design replace, DB reverts to old design on the client side.

Hi Paul - Thanks for the input. If / when I get a new user reporting the problem I’ll have them delete their cache file.

Thanks! Liz

Subject: After design replace, DB reverts to old design on the client side.

Liz,

Are their multiple replicas of the DB in your organization?

Did your design refresh replicate to all replicas?

Do the users have multiple replica icons in their workspace?

Shawn

Subject: RE: After design replace, DB reverts to old design on the client side.

Hi Shawn,There are no other replicas of the databases. The users do make local replicas, but those displayed the updated design. These DB’s have had their designs replaced many times in the past and we’ve never seen this occur. The only difference this time is it’s the first design replace that has taken place since both the server and the clients were upgraded to 7. A user had a screen print of the DB with the old design and the design properties box showing the correct server and DB information. It also occurred for one of the other developers.

Subject: RE: After design replace, DB reverts to old design on the client side.

It may be wise depending on the ODS version on the client to delete the client replicas and recreate them.

I do not have any experience with client/server based notes replication except for mail and that is a one to one replica not a one to many.

Just a guess on my part.

GL

Shawn