I wonder, what is notes doing, after I delete 90% of my documents, which left only lookup documents, i.e documents needed to fill in other fields in new documents (i.e via the lookup formula).
Is there any potential notes crash, if I just ctrl-break? So far, I don’t see any problem, just that sometime it takes longer time for me to reopen back the same database.
I though it will take so much less time, as there are no more documents to be displayed (i.e all documents to be displayed in the default view already been deleted?)
Or something wrong with my view or formula, what are the other possibilities? I wonder.
Any kind feedback is very much appreciated. I can not do anything with other database, as both client and designer is locked after updating.
Subject: After delete 45000 document, take hours for view to reupdate
Hi Will,
Please dont forget that although you have deleted 45000 documents, the DB still holds the deletion stubs for these many documents.
I would suggest to first compact the DB with -B switch (recover white spaces) and also purge the deletion stubs (NOTE: Purge only after you replicate this DB with all other replicas, else there are chances of documents reappearing from other replicas)
Subject: RE: After delete 45000 document, take hours for view to reupdate
I am only using a client version, and my database is not on the server, the -B that you mention, it can only be run via the server right? or can be run using “run command”. I am asking first as worry it might cause my file to be corrupted.
Subject: RE: After delete 45000 document, take hours for view to reupdate
Hi Will,
The update time is cause by the view index rebuild. Every view have an index the keep track of every documents contained in it. So if you delete a mass amount of documents, this index have to be rebuilt. In your scenario, it is you client that is doing the hob. If you were on a server, you could run program document to do it for you. it would be faster.
Subject: After delete 45000 document, take hours for view to reupdate
If you’re just trying to scrub a test db, it’s better to make a design-only copy and then just copy in your lookup docs, because that way you don’t wait for the view rebuilding and you don’t carry around 45k deletion stubs.
Subject: RE: After delete 45000 document, take hours for view to reupdate
Good suggestion, I didn’t do that coz experience in the past, I always going to miss some other lookup documents, and I have to pick up the missing pieces later on. In this way, I just need to do it once. I was thinking to just use ctrl break to cancel the view index, but it wasn’t successful, only 20000 documents were deleted initially.
Maybe I could write a script to select first 10000 documents yeah? But I am still learning how to do that…